top of page

Atlanta Looks

Cue DJ Khaled's Wild Thoughts, like seriously play the song while you read this! I'll give you time, to press play. This song was the literal soundtrack of my weekend in Atlanta. Since the birth of this blog, I have recently joined the best African American sorority there is: Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated. Go hard for what's yours, right? Skee-wee to all my Sorors reading! Let's get back on topic. After my internship at Meharry Medical College wrapped, I was off to Atlanta with my Line Sisters for the annual Atlanta Greek Picnic (AGP!) I was definitely excited to say the least. I planned on taking a million pictures to help me remember the weekend, because in that moment I did not plan to at all.

Oh Atlanta, the mecca of Black excellence. The Black New York. The Black fashion and hair capital of the US. A little fashionista's paradise. I was about to transcend on Heaven and in the words of Rihanna "They may can beat me, but they cannot beat my outfit." To say in the most humble way, I did not come to play this weekend, I came to slay. Looking back the weekend was in every way pure perfection, shall I say pure pearlfection! (I'm a neo, bear with me). Being 20 in Atlanta was not easy at all. Its a grown and sexy city and will remind you at every turn that you are indeed underaged. However, all of my Line Sisters who I ventured with were fabulously grown and sexy. They helped me tremendously get in everywhere we went. Andrew Jackson helped me tremendously as well, if you catch my drift. Many establishments also don't ID, wink wink to my youngsters who want a mimosa at brunch. Brunch! The highlight of my stay! Atlanta has so many brunch establishments! All of which that we went to were Black owned might I add. That's huge for me, (give back to your community). The food was beyond amazing and with the city being flooded with hundreds of Greeks, your outfit had to be bomb. No excuses. What are excuses? You never know when God's gonna present your husband, so look Godly at all times. These were my Atlanta weekend looks. Enjoy!

My Sunday Brunch ensemble. A comfy dress with a gorgeous back out design. Subtle in the front, Beyonce in the back with a bow tie. I paired it Steven Madden open toed heels.

Club attire. Now this outfit was completely thrown together. The bralette was always a go, but I had no idea what bottoms to wear. I was frustrated and was not prepared to go out sad. My sister Arayvia rescued me though. She let me borrow this simple black fitted skirt and the outfit was complete. I still have to return this skirt! I'm going to Ray, I promise! I paired this black-out fit with nylon yellow heels to provide some pop. I did a simple beat on my face and a red lippy. I tied a black choker around my arm to accessorize along with gold jewelry like my earrings and bracelet.

The actual picnic. The day of the picnic, we had shirts made with our Line Name on the front and our Chapter Charter year on the back. I dressed up the tank with some thrift 90s jeans, open toed chunky heels, and jewelry. I had a chunky pink choker on and my favorite AKA pearl bracelets, one pink, one green, of course.

I had on silver hoop earrings and sunglasses just to add that DoItLookLikeIWasLeftOffBadAndBoujee vibe.

I had a green jacket that was solely for these pictures, because it was hotter that Satan's Sauna on this day in Atlanta. My life was packed in this small pink cross body purse. Y'all can see what color scheme I was going with.

And we're to my favorite look of the weekend! The first night we were there! Our first night out! The one night I honestly can barely remember. This picture shows my beat for the night. Special shout out to my 11 Adrian! She was my personal lash tech all weekend and they look bomb in every picture! I love you so much! I was going for a bronze look which is evident from my lips to my eye shadow to my highlight and accessories.

I wore a black crop top and pink fitted skirt, both from Forever 21 with the black Steve Maddens previously mentioned.

We made the best of the rain this night. It created a perfect background for all the pictures we took! All in all, this was such a memorable weekend and a highlight of my summer!


bottom of page