top of page

I'm Better Denim Other Girls 💅🏾

We often are told to pray that God reveals our talents. That is something I have to do more praying on. I'm not sure if my talents have been revealed and I have just ignored the signs, but nothing brings me more joy in this world than to write and create. Literature and fashion, I have to admit are my top two passions. Hence my numerous journals and this little ol' blog that is centered on fashion and lifestyle. Obsession is an understatement when it comes to denim. I am hooked on this material. If you ask someone about me and they don't bring up my obsession for denim, then they truly do not know me. I discovered my obsession for denim when I created thigh high denim boots for a Beyonce concert months back. Ever since, the rest has literally been history. The boots turned into chokers, which turned into tops, and continued onto distressing jeans and creating any and everything from the material. My best friend compared me to Raven Baxter from That's So Raven, because I make my own clothes. It was a huge compliment. I pride myself on being able to do anything I put my mind to and learning things quickly, after being shown once quickly (wink, wink to toot my own horn). Design is something I am so proud of myself for finding within. Here are a few of my creations, I hope you like! In a perfect world, you are about to enter the house of Andrea Jessie Designs. (Paying homage to my mom, my fashion muse- Love you Queen!).

These chokers are super easy to create! You only need tweezers and a safety pin. If you are fancy you can get some velcro material from your local crafts store and use a hot glue gun to attach it. Cut a thin section off some old jeans you no longer wear and take the tweezers to pull some strings and distress the choker a little. Use the safety pin to connect the back or the velcro.

My fav choker! Can you tell which part of some old pants it was cute from?

My most bold creation. I flipped some jeans literally! This now shirt, used to be my favorite pair of jeans! Look closely you'll be able to to tell!

My babies! I could cry looking at them. These boots launched my passion for design and denim. I am still so proud of myself for creating them. They were for sure a headache, but in the end I'd do it all over again. They are perfect to me and that's all that matters! You'll need numerous pairs of jeans for this creation, (if you want it to have different colors, styles etc), if not you'll need at least two pairs that look similar if not identical. You'll need a hot glue gun and some old boots. The boots I used were not thigh high in the slightest so if yours also are not you'll have to create the thigh attachment. Yes these boots are put on in two parts- the thigh, then the actual boot. Once on it looks like the boot is all together, but it makes the style of shoe versatile. You can wear the style two ways. Thigh highs or knee length. Super cute!

To create the denim boot, cut various pieces from your jeans and glue them to the boot until it is covered. To create the thigh, slide a pair of jeans on and cut above your thigh. This is your attachment. Embellish to your comfort. I cuffed my thigh "sleeve" and added pockets, buttons, straps etc. Do whatever makes you happy and will make you feel your best when you rock your boots! There are also several Youtube tutorials on making denim boots! Maybe I'll dabble in the Youtube world, one day- stay tuned (This is a major hint folks!)

I also distress jeans too! I did these three for a friend of a friend.

I call these Karrueche. Karrueche Tran wore some pants with slits under her little booty, so I just had to cut slits under my little booty. These same jeans were what I used to create that top you just read about!

Another view of that said top. My baby!

I also used old jeans to make this denim jacket. It was only right. I cut slits at the elbow and distressed the sleeves.

Who doesn't love cut outs?

My roommate, well Kayla wasn't my roommate, but she practically lived in my apartment during my internship, I'm off topic- anyway my kinda roommate Kayla wanted some Karrueche type jeans with the booty slit so I had to give it to her, with some chops along the way.

Show some skin when you go out girl! Words I live by, so I cut my entire thigh out, why not? Be bold, be you!

Action shots!

There's that Karrueche slit! Thanks for letting me share my passion with y'all! Coming to a runway in Paris soon. Speak all things into existence!


bottom of page